Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019

The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for the development of lithium-ion batteries. To celebrate the award, Nature Research presents this Collection including publications from the prize winners, and further research and review content focused on Li-ion batteries, and beyond — work that is laying the foundations of a wireless and fossil-fuel-free future.

Content ‘from the winners’ and recent review articles (published from 2014 onwards) are free to access until April 2020.

Produced with support from:

This Collection is editorially independent, produced with financial support from a third party. About this content.

Focus: Post lithium-ion batteries

Insight: Automotive batteries